This issue came up for me today and I thought it was worth sharing, as I had to go searching around for the answer.
What’s the problem?
You’re a member of a Facebook group discussing, for example, interior decoration. The group is a public or open Facebook group, so even if you have to ask to join and be approved before you can post, the posts are public.
So, you merrily start conversations about sofas and wallpaper, post pictures, create Events and join Events, and respond to other people’s posts.
Nothing appears on your own timeline out in main Facebook.
But your friends who aren’t in the group will see a selection of your posts in that Facebook group, whether or not they’re interested in interior decoration.
Why can my friends see my Facebook group posts?
If the group is a Public or Open group, that means that anyone can see the group, the members of the group and the posts they post.
It’s all down to the group, not to your individual settings. There is no way you can stop this happening (and there are some very cross posts and comments about this all over the Internet).
What are the kinds of Facebook groups?
A Public / Open group – everyone can see who is a member and what they post. You might have to be approved to post in the group or you might not, but everything will still be seen.
This kind of group is intended to be welcoming and visible and isn’t suitable if it’s for discussing private matters.
A Closed group – everyone can see the group name and find the group, but no one who isn’t in the group can see the members and posts. You will need to ask to join this group and need to be approved before you can post.
If you have friends in a private group, you will see their posts in your timelines / newsfeed, and vice versa, but no one else will.
This kind of group is good if you want to be found, but don’t want your discussions all over the whole of Facebook.
A Secret group – no one can see the group name or the members or posts. It’s not searchable, even to find the name of the group. Members have to invite people to join the group.
This kind of group is useful for a support group or private discussion about an event where you know who you want to invite to join the group.
How do I tell what kind of group a Facebook group is?
When you look at the group home page, there will be a note underneath which states what kind of group it is. Here are some examples:
A Public group:
When you hover over Public Group:
A Closed Group:
When you hover over Closed Group:
A Secret Group:
When you hover over Secret Group:
How do I stop my friends seeing all my posts in this Facebook group?
Short answer: if it’s an open group, you can’t.
Your friends can hide the posts from that group using the down-arrow in the corner of one of the posts, but you’d have to instruct all of your friends to do this and I’m sure this is not really feasible.
There is no setting in your profile that can stop your friends seeing the posts.
The only way to make sure that no one except friends who are also in the group can see your group posts is to change the group setting to Closed. Obviously, a moderator will need to do this, if you’re not the moderator.
I hope you’ve found this useful – do feel free to share it on social media or email using the buttons below.
Other useful posts on this blog
Facebook for business
How to delete posts and block users from your Facebook page
How to add a moderator or admin to your Facebook page
How do I stop videos auto-playing in Facebook and Twitter?
How do I stop seeing new comments on a Facebook post?
How do I hide a Facebook post?
How do I remove a member from a Facebook group?
How do I delete a Facebook group?